the uk

IMG_3984

London, The United Kingdom

For Thanksgiving, Cat and I went on our first trip together (just us two) to London. I don’t think I was quite expecting to love it as much as I did. In some ways, it was a better version of America… (So unpatriotic, but I have to be honest.)

Cat and I are so alike that it wasn’t until the very end of the semester that we finally got to travel together. This trip with her meant a lot to me because we really grew closer and I think of her as a life long friend.

First, we hit up the typical tourist destinations like:

  • London Bridge, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London

IMG_3978

We went on a ferry tour of the Thames and it was c o l d. But the views from the boat were worth it!

  • Platform 3/4 (the Harry Potter geeks in all of us screamed!) The line looks daunting, but it goes by really quickly. And right next door is a Harry Potter souvenir shop.

IMG_3986

  • London Eye – be forewarned, it’s pricey. I don’t know if it was worth the almost $35usd, but Cat loved it and I know she would pay that price again. It had great views of the Thames River, Big Ben and Buckingham Palace.
  • Hyde Park
  • Big Ben, Trafalgar Square and Buckingham Palace

IMG_4070

  • Harrods – the most wonderful shopping experience known to man
  • The Book of Mormon – holy crap. This was one of the funnies productions I’ve ever seen. Maybe because I was in London, I loved it even more. I bought my ticket the day of the show hoping for a discount, it was about 60pounds ($90usd) – SO WORTH IT. Cat didn’t end up seeing it with me as she was visiting family, but going stag was not a problem for me. I actually really enjoyed it!
  • Borough Market
    • This place is a MUST. Cat and I went back every day we were in London. The variety of food choices was perfect for our palettes. For some days we would come for breakfast and again for lunch!
  • High Tea at the Wolseley

IMG_3959

I don’t ever claim to be a very fancy person, but I really enjoyed the High Tea service that Cat set up for us. It was delicious and pretty filling because both Cat and I were starving when we arrived but we both left satisfied. And I never knew the appeal of English Breakfast Tea, but now I’m hooked.

Definitely not the last time I’ll be visiting London. Hopefully next time I can bring my other Kat!

Leave a Reply

